Fireworks Trophy Goes with a Bang

Fireworks Trophy Report

Twenty club members turned out on a calm and dry evening for the third annual Fireworks Trophy fun tournament  
Sponsored for the first time by EPG Accountants courtesy of our new Winter E team captain Eileen Grigg the competitors were playing for the prestigious new trophy 
Eileen also provided free sparklers for each competitor - good value for a simple £1 entry fee 
The tournament took a unique timed approach with players swapping their court and partner after each ten minute round in a format that even the organiser struggled to follow !! 
After everyone had played four rounds the top eight competitors made the semi finals and then the final consisted of a match tie break 
Club coach Istvan Kaplan and Lindsay Newton took the honours beating Joe Buckley and Lynn Boyes.Losing semi finalists were Helen Dyson , Jane Cummings , Kim Bennett and Mandy Craker 
Eileen presented the winners with the trophy before all of the players retired to the clubhouse for nibbles and drinks
Special mention to the junior competitors who pitted their skills excellently against the adults but not to Claire Wilkins who demonstrated bar skills which will not have the local landlords calling with job offers !


Our Sponsors
Rosebank Sports
Roberts Bakery
Keen Pharmacy
Cheshire Pest Solutions
SCA Solar
Rushey Hay Farm
Bare Health
CTC Physiotherapy
Join Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter